Browse meetings

Browse meetings


This page lists the meetings for Council.

Webcasts of meetings are available at Webcasts on Vimeo.


Information about Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.


Seven individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.


All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council’s overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.


Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council’s website