

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 j.roney@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Ext Manchester M60 2LA

8 May 2018

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 16 May 2018

You are summoned to a meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 16 May 2018 at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester, Town Hall Extension.

- 1. Special Business to be introduced by the Lord Mayor
- 2. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester.

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2018/19 Municipal Year

3. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor

4. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2018/19 municipal year

- 5. **Minutes** to submit for approval and signature the minutes of the meeting held on 21 March 2018
- 6. Interests

To allow members an opportunity to declare any personal or prejudicial interests they might have in any items which appear on this agenda

7. Seniority of Councillors

To note the statement of the City Solicitor as to the seniority of members of the Council (enclosed)

8. The Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council

9. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee Audit Committee

Employee Appeals Committee Licensing and Appeals Committee

Licensing Committee Licensing Policy Committee

Personnel Committee Planning and Highways Committee

Standards Committee Health and Wellbeing Board

Executive Standing Consultative Panel

Scrutiny Committees -

Children and Young People Communities and Equalities

Neighbourhoods and Environment Economy

Health Resources and Governance

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 15 May 2018 – to be circulated at the meeting)

10. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 15 May 2018– to be circulated at the meeting)

11. Questions to Executive Members under Procedural Rule 23.

12. Proceedings of Committees

To approve the minutes of the following committees -

Audit Committee – 22 March 2018 (to follow)
Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 15 May 2018 (to follow)
Licensing and Appeals Committee – 24 April 2018 (to follow)

Planning and Highways Committee – 8 March 2018 (to follow) and 12 April 2018 (to follow)

13. Business of the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

To receive answers to any questions raised in accordance with Procedural Rule 24 on the business of: (a) the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, (b) the Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority, and (c) any other joint authority.

14. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2018/19:
Wednesday 11 July 2018 Wednesday 3 October 2018
Wednesday 28 November 2018 Wednesday 30 January 2019
Friday 8 March 2019 (Budget meeting) Wednesday 27 March 2019

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2019 will be on 15 May 2019

15. Urgent Key Decisions

The report of the City Solicitor is enclosed

16. Council Constitution 2018/19

The report of the City Solicitor will follow

17. Appointment of the City Solicitor / Monitoring Officer

On 5 March 2018 interviews were undertaken by an Appointment Panel for the post of City Solicitor /Monitoring Officer. The successful candidate was Fiona Ledden, currently Assistant Director: Governance /Monitoring Officer of Stoke-on-Trent City Council. She will take up her new role in Manchester on 18 June

2018. Council is recommended to note and endorse the appointment of Fiona Ledden as City Solicitor / Monitoring Officer

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors -

Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chohan, Clay, Collins, Connolly, Cooley, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Douglas, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Harland, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kilpatrick, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, Newman, Noor, O'Neil, Ollerhead, Paul, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Watson, Wheeler, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright.

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: **Donna Barnes**

Tel: 0161 234 3037 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: d.barnes@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **8 May 2018** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.