

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 j.roney@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

4 July 2017

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 12 July 2017

You are summoned to attend a special meeting of the Council which will be held on **Wednesday 12 July 2017** at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension for the following purposes:

1. Lord Mayor's Special Business

Including contributions from people who were among those that responded to the Manchester Arena attack on 22 May 2017.

2. Notice of Motion – Recognising outstanding contributions to the life of the city

This Council recognises that the loss of so many innocent lives cruelly murdered on the night of May 22 at Manchester is something that will always stay in our hearts and minds.

We recognise too the magnificent response to this tragedy from people already at the scene, from first responders, from the vast range of public service workers, and from many ordinary members of the public.

We further recognise the exceptional way in which Manchester people from all parts and from all communities that make up this great city, came together in sympathy, in defiance and in unity.

The events of May 22 and the days after have made us aware that though the city has many award ceremonies that other than Freedom of the City, we have nothing to recognise outstanding and exceptional contributions.

Therefore Council resolves to ask the Chief Executive

- 1. To arrange one or more civic receptions in the autumn to thank and recognise as many of those involved in the response as possible
- 2. To prepare a report for the Executive proposing a new awards system to recognise exceptional and outstanding contributions to the life of the city, this to include for people living and working outside Greater Manchester the awarding of honorary citizenship

The Council further resolves

That Ariana Grande should be the first to be made an Honorary Citizen of the City of Manchester

Proposed by: Councillor Leese, Seconded by Councillors Sue Murphy, Fletcher-Hackwood, Davies, and Karney

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee Officer: **Donald Connolly**

Tel: 0161 234 3034 Fax: 0161 274 7017 Email: d.connolly@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **4 July 2017** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Seven individuals with previous long service as councillors of the City have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

Councillors undertake to follow a code of ethical conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. A Standards Committee is established to train and provide guidance to them on the code of conduct.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each Municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies, initiate parliamentary bills to support local Acts, and set the Council budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors –

Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Austin-Behan, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Lovecy, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, B Priest, H Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson. There is one vacant seat on the Council.

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, Paul Murphy OBE, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.