

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

9 May 2017

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday 17 May 2017

You are summoned to a meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 17 May 2017 at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

- 1. Special Business to be introduced by the Lord Mayor
- 2. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester.

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2017/18 municipal year.

3. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

4. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2017/18 municipal year.

5. **Minutes** - to submit for approval and signature the minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2017.

6. Interests

To allow members an opportunity to declare any personal or prejudicial interests they might have in any items which appear on this agenda.

7. Seniority of Councillors

To note the statement of the City Solicitor as to the seniority of members of the Council (enclosed).

8. The Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

9. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee
Employee Appeals Committee
Licensing Committee
Licensing Policy Committee
Personnel Committee
Standards Committee
Health and Wellbeing Board

Audit Committee
Licensing and Appeals Committee
Planning and Highways Committee
Wythenshawe Area Committee
Executive Standing Consultative Panel

Scrutiny Committees –
Young People & Children Communities
Neighbourhoods Economy
Health Finance
Joint Health Scrutiny Committee (with Trafford)
Pennine Acute Joint Health Scrutiny Committee

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 16 May 2017 – to be circulated at the meeting)

11. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 16 May 2017– to be circulated at the meeting)

12. Questions to Executive Members under Procedural Rule 23.

13. Proceedings of Committees

To approve the minutes of the following committees -

Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 16 May 2017 (to follow) Licensing and Appeals Committee – 24 April 2017 Planning and Highways Committee – 6 April 2017 and 27 April 2017 (to follow) Personnel Committee on 25 April 2017, and in particular to consider

PE/17/14 Deputy Strategic Director of Childrens Services – Market Supplement

To endorse the introduction of a performance based market supplement of £3,000 to be placed on the post of Deputy Strategic Director of Children's Services in line with the established Market Rates Policy and recommend that Council approves the supplement.

PE/17/15 Strategic Director, Commissioning (inc DASS) - Remuneration of role and Market Supplement

To note the evaluation of the role of Strategic Director, Commissioning (including Director of Adult Social Services) evaluated within the salary band Senior Salary Grade 5 of the senior salary scale which is £117,314 to £137,045 and recommend that full Council approve the grade and salary of the post

To support the request that a performance-based market supplement of £7,000 (the cost of which is to be reimbursed to Manchester City Council by Manchester Health and Care Commissioning) is added to the salary to ensure that the appointment of the identified candidate is secured, and recommend that full Council approves the supplement.

14 [Number not used]

15. Business of the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

To receive answers to any questions raised in accordance with Procedural Rule 24 on the business of: (a) the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, (b) the Greater Manchester Police Authority, (c) the Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority, (d) the Transport for Greater Manchester Committee.

16. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2017/18

Wednesday 12 July 2017 Wednesday 29 November 2017 Friday 2 March 2017 (Budget meeting) Wednesday 21 March 2017 Wednesday 4 October 2017 Wednesday 24 January 2017

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2018 will be on 16 May 2018

17. Urgent Key Decisions

The report of the City Solicitor is enclosed.

18. Council Constitution 2017/18

The report of the City Solicitor is enclosed.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors -

Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Lovecy, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, Paul Murphy OBE, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: **Donna Barnes**

Tel: 0161 234 3037 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: d.barnes@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **9 May 2017** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.