Manchester City Council Report for Information

Report to:Council – 17 May 2017

Subject: Seniority of Councillors 2017/18

Report of: City Solicitor

1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 4 May 2017 the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

Seniority by Office

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor The Deputy Lord Mayor The Leader of the Council

Hugh Barrett * Patrick Karney **Richard Leese Basil Curley** Nilofar Siddigi Andrew Fender Eddy Newman Sheila Newman **Glynn Evans** Brian O'Neil Susan Murphy Susan Cooley Paul Andrews **Bernard Priest** Joanne Green Mavis Smitheman **Bernard Stone** John Flanagan Tom Judge Mick Loughman June Hitchen John Longsden Abid Chohan Jon-Leigh Pritchard Mary Watson Mike Amesbury Naeem UI-Hassan Nigel Murphy Andrew Simcock John Leech

Rosa Battle Sameem Ali Veronica Kirkpatrick Luthfur Rahman Suzannah Reeves Rabnawaz Akbar Suzanne Richards Julie Reid Amina Lone **Tracey Rawlins** Grace Fletcher-Hackwood Aftab Razaq Matthew Strong **Bev Craig** David Ellison Carl Austin-Behan **Kevin Peel** John Hughes Chris Paul Peter Cookson **Carmine Grimshaw** Carl Ollerhead Shelley Lanchbury Joan Davies Nasrin Ali Ahmed Ali Luke Raikes Angeliki Stogia Shaukat Ali Joanna Midgley Afia Kamal Tina Hewitson Donna Ludford Ollie Manco Sarah Russell Azra Ali Madeleine Monaghan Sandra Collins Yasmin Dar John Hacking James Wilson Josie Teubler Rebecca Moore Mandie Shilton Godwin **Beth Knowles Emily Rowles** Dzidra Noor **Basat Sheikh** Paula Appleby Dave Rawson

Julie Connolly **Beth Marshall Garry Bridges** Chris Webb Sarah Judge Lee-Ann Igbon John Farrell Paula Sadler Emma Taylor ** Mary Monaghan ** Mahadi Mahamed ** Hannah Priest ** Kelly Simcock ** Zahra Alijah ** Chris Wills ** Jill Lovecy

Notes

* Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the member marked * where service prior to 1st April 1974 with the former Manchester Corporation has also been aggregated.

** The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 9 May 2016

City Solicitor

9 May 2017