

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

17 January 2017

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Special Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 25 January 2017

You are summoned to attend a Special Meeting of the Council which will be held at **10.00 a.m. on Wednesday 25 January 2017** in the Council Chamber at Manchester Town Hall, for the purpose of considering the following Motion to be moved by the Lord Mayor, that Mr Paul Murphy be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the City of Manchester in recognition of the distinctive and eminent service which he has rendered to the City in the office of Councillor.

Motion to be moved by The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Councillor Carl Austin-Behan) Seconded by the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Eddy Newman)

That this Council hereby records its view that the powers entrusted to it by law of recognising persons who have rendered eminent service to the Council as a former member, would be fittingly exercised by admitting to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City:

Paul Murphy, OBE

That this Council hereby records its view that the powers entrusted to it by law of recognising persons who have rendered eminent service to the Council as a former member, would be fittingly exercised by admitting to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City, Paul Murphy OBE, who rendered meritorious service to the City as a Councillor for over 24 years.

Paul Murphy was first elected as Councillor for the Lightbowne Ward of the City in 1979 until 1986. He returned to serve the ward in May 1999 and continued to serve as Councillor for the area until his retirement from the Council in May of last year.

During his membership of the Council he has served on numerous committees of the Council, including serving as Chair of Direct Works Committee, Deputy Chair of Finance Committee as well as being a member of the Council's Housing, Planning and Economic Development Committees. He was the Executive Member for Direct Works from 2003. He has also represented the Council on outside organisations including the Greater Manchester Police Authority from 2001. He was Chair of the Authority from 2008 until its abolition in 2012. After which he continued to serve as the Chair of the Audit and Accounts Committee for the Greater Manchester Police and Crime Commissioner. He was awarded an OBE by Her Majesty the Queen for services to Policing in 2013.

Mr Murphy's intellect, ability, integrity, affability and enthusiasm for public service have earned for him the highest regard and respect of everyone who knows him, and in the opinion of the members of this Council, Paul Murphy OBE is a distinguished former colleague for whom it is fitting to admit to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen.

The Council accordingly resolves that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, Paul Murphy OBE is hereby admitted to be an Honorary Alderman of the City.

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors -

Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin-Behan, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, B Priest, H Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester –

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: **Donald Connolly**

Tel: 0161 234 3034 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: d.connolly@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **17 January 2017** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.