

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

23 January 2017

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday 25 January 2017

A summons was issued on the 17 January 2017 for the meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 25 January 2017 at the rise of the special meeting of the Council in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

The following items marked as to follow on the summons are now enclosed.

4. Proceedings of the Executive

To submit the minutes of the Executive - 14 December 2016

7. Proceedings of Committees

Licensing and Appeals Committee – 16 January 2017 Licensing Committee – 16 January 2017 Planning and Highways Committee – 12 January 2017

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council presided over by the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors -

Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin-Behan, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, B Priest, H Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: Donald Connolly

Tel: 0161 234 3034 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: d.connolly@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on 23 January 2017 by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.