

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

10 May 2016

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

### Extraordinary Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 18 May 2016

You are summoned to a meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 18 May 2016 at 10.30 am (or at the rise of the Annual General Meeting of Council, whichever is sooner) in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

1. Draft submission on Council size for the Local Government Boundary Commision for England's Electoral Review of Manchester City Council to follow

The report of the Chief Executive will follow.

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

# Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

## **Members of the Council**

#### Councillors -

Ahmed, Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson

#### Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

## **Further Information**

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee Officer: Carolyn Whewell

Tel: 0161 234 3011 Fax: 0161 274 7017 Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **10 May 2016** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.