

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

10 May 2016

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

## Meeting of the Council - Wednesday 18 May 2016

You are summoned to a meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 18 May 2016 at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

- 1. Special Business to be introduced by the Lord Mayor
- 2. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester.

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2016/17 municipal year.

#### 3. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

#### 4. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2016/17 municipal year.

5. **Minutes** - to submit for approval and signature the minutes of the meeting held on 16 March 2016.

#### 6. Interests

To allow members an opportunity to declare any personal or prejudicial interests they might have in any items which appear on this agenda.

#### 7. Seniority of Councillors

To note the statement of the City Solicitor as to the seniority of members of the Council. (enclosed)

#### 8. The Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

#### 9. The Executive

To receive a report from the Leader of the Council on changes, if any, of appointments to the Executive or of executive portfolios.

#### 10. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee Employee Appeals Committee Licensing Committee Audit Committee
Licensing and Appeals Committee
Licensing Policy Committee

Personnel Committee Planning and Highways Committee Standards Committee Wythenshawe Area Committee

**Executive Standing Consultative Panel** Health and Wellbeing Board

Scrutiny Committees – Young People & Children Communities Neighbourhoods Economy Health Finance Joint Health Scrutiny Committee (with Trafford) Pennine Acute Joint Health Scrutiny Committee

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 17 May 2016 – to be circulated at the meeting)

#### 11. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint **Committees**

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 17 May 2016– to be circulated at the meeting)

#### 12. Questions to Executive Members under Procedural Rule 23.

#### 13. Proceedings of Scrutiny Committees

To approve the minutes of the Trafford Borough Council and Manchester City Council Joint Health Scrutiny Committee - 22 March 2016

#### 14. Proceedings of Committees

To approve the minutes of the following committees -

Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 17 May 2016 (to follow) Health and Wellbeing Board – 27 April 2016 (to follow) Planning and Highways Committee - 7 April 2016 Personnel Committee on 25 April 2016 and 10 May 2016 (to follow)

#### 15. Business of the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

To receive answers to any questions raised in accordance with Procedural Rule 24 on the business of: (a) the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, (b) the Greater Manchester Fire and Civil Defence Authority, (c) the Greater Manchester Police Authority, (d) the Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority, (e) the Transport for Greater Manchester Committee.

#### 15. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2016/17

Wednesday 13 July 2016 Wednesday 5 October 2016 Wednesday 30 November 2016 Wednesday 25 January 2017 Friday 3 March 2017 (Budget meeting)

Wednesday 22 March 2017

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2016 will be on 18 May 2016

# 16. **Council Constitution 2016/17 – to follow** The report of the City Solicitor **will follow**.

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

## Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

## Members of the Council

#### Councillors -

Ahmed, Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Teubler, Watson, Webb, Wills and Wilson

### Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester –

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

## **Further Information**

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: Carolyn Whewell

Tel: 0161 234 3011 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **10 May 2016** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.