

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

25 February 2016

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Friday 4 March 2016

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held on Friday 4 March 2016 at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 3, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business

 (and including other business the Lord Mayor has agreed to have submitted as urgent)

2. Interests

To allow Members an opportunity to declare any personal, prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they might have in any items which appear on this agenda; and record any items from which they are precluded from voting as a result of Council Tax or Council rent arrears. Members with a personal interest should declare that at the start of the item under consideration. If members also have a prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they must withdraw from the meeting during the consideration of the item.

Minutes - to submit for approval and signature the minutes of the meeting held on 20 January 2016.

4. The Council's Revenue and Capital Budget 2016/17 to 2017/18

- (a) To approve the proceedings of the Art Galleries Committee on 17 February 2016 in relation to the Art Galleries budget for 2016/17.
- (b) To approve the proceedings of the Executive on 17 February which contain details of the following:
 - Budget 2016/17 Strategic Response
 - Children and Families Budget and Business Planning 2016/17
 - Manchester Health and Social Care Locality Plan A Healthier Manchester
 - Pooled Budgets 2016/17
 - Growth and Neighbourhoods Budget and Business Plan 2016/17
 - Corporate Core Directorate Budget and Business Planning 2016/17
 - Draft ICT and Information Strategy 2015-18
 - Revenue Budget 2016/17
 - Dedicated Schools Grant 2016/17
 - Housing Revenue Account 2016/17 to 2018/19

- Capital Programme Budget and Strategy 2016/17 2018/19
- Global Revenue Budget Monitoring 2015/16
- Capital Programme Monitoring 2015/16
- Treasury Management Strategy Statement & Borrowing Limits and Annual Investment Strategy 2016-17
- Budget and Business Plans 2016/17-2017/18: Comments of Overview and Scrutiny Committees
- (c) To note the minutes of the Finance Scrutiny Committee held on 25 February 2016, in relation to the overall budget proposals (to follow)
- (d) To note the comments of the scrutiny committees about the business plans.
- (e) To approve proposals to ensure that the Housing Revenue Account for 2016/17 does not show a debit balance.
- (f) To determine affordable borrowing limits, prudential indicators, proposals in respect of treasury management, annual investment strategy and minimum revenue budget strategy.
- (g) To calculate the Council Tax requirement in accordance with Section 31A of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, as amended.
- (h) To calculate a basic amount of Council Tax and an amount for each valuation band (the City Council element) in accordance with Sections 31B and 36 of the Local Government Finance Act, 1992, as amended.
- (i) To set an amount of Council Tax for each valuation band in accordance with Section 30 of the Local Government Finance Act, 1992.

In considering the above items to consider:

- a report of the City Solicitor, Deputy City Treasurer and Head of Strategic Communications on the response to consultation on the budget.
- (k) A report of the City Treasurer containing the Treasury Management Strategy Statement & Borrowing Limits and Annual Investment Strategy 2016-17.
- (I) a report of the Chief Executive, the City Treasurer and the City Solicitor containing revised budget calculations, as authorised by the Executive (to follow)

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors -

Adams, Ahmed, Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Amesbury, Andrews, Appleby, Austin, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cookson, Cooley, Cox, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Gillard, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Igbon, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leese, Lone, Longsden, Loughman, Ludford, Manco, Marshall, Midgley, Monaghan, Moore, N. Murphy, P. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Royle, Russell, Sadler, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Siddiqi, Simcock, Shone, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Swannick, Teubler, Watson, Webb and Wilson

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester-

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, John Smith and Keith Whitmore

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: Carolyn Whewell

Tel: 0161 234 3011 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **25 February 2016** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.