## Manchester City Council Report for Information

Report to: Council – 20 May 2015

**Subject:** Seniority of Councillors 15/16

Report of: City Solicitor

## 1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 7 May 2015, and the ballot that the Lord Mayor subsequently conducted on 12 May to determine the seniority of newly elected councillors without previous qualifying service, the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

## **Seniority by Office**

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor The Deputy Lord Mayor The Leader of the Council

**Hugh Barrett** \*

Patrick Karney

Richard Leese

Basil Curley

Nilofar Siddiqi

Andrew Fender

Mark Hackett

Paul Murphy

Eddy Newman

Sheila Newman

Glynn Evans

David Royle

Brian O'Neil

Susan Murphy

Susan Cooley

Paul Andrews

**Neil Swannick** 

**Bernard Priest** 

Joanne Green

Mavis Smitheman

Anna Trotman

Bernard Stone

John Flanagan

Tom Judge

Mick Loughman

Alistair Cox

June Hitchen

John Longsden

Abid Chohan

Jon-Leigh Pritchard

Mary Watson

Mike Amesbury

Naeem Ul-Hassan

Nigel Murphy

**Andrew Simcock** 

Rosa Battle

Sameen Ali

Veronica Kirkpatrick

Luthfur Rahman

Suzannah Reeves

Rabnawaz Akbar

Suzanne Richards

Julie Reid

Amina Lone

**Tracey Rawlins** 

Grace Fletcher-Hackwood

Aftab Razaq

Matthew Strong

**Bev Craig** 

David Ellison

Carl Austin

Kevin Peel

John Hughes

Chris Paul

Peter Cookson

Kate Chappell

Carmine Grimshaw

Fran Shone

Carl Ollerhead

Shelley Lanchbury

Joan Davies

Nasrin Ali

Ahmed Ali

Luke Raikes

**Bridie Adams** 

Angeliki Stogia

Shaukat Ali

Joanna Midgley

**Daniel Gillard** 

Afia Kamal

Tina Hewitson

Donna Ludford

Ollie Manco

Sarah Russell

Azra Ali

Madeleine Monaghan

Sandra Collins

Yasmin Dar

John Hacking James Wilson Josie Teubler Rebecca Moore Mandie Shilton Godwin **Beth Knowles Emily Rowles** Dzidra Noor Basat Sheikh Paula Appleby Dave Rawson Julie Connolly Beth Marshall **Garry Bridges** Chris Webb Sarah Judge Lee-Ann Igbon John Farrell

## **Notes**

\* Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the member marked \* where service prior to 1st April 1974 with the former Manchester Corporation has also been aggregated.

The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 12 May 2015

City Solicitor

12 May 2015