## Manchester City Council Report for Information

**Report to:** Council – 4 June 2014

**Subject:** Seniority of Councillors 2014/15

Report of: City Solicitor

## 1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 22 May 2014, and the ballot that the Lord Mayor subsequently conducted on 27 May to determine the seniority of newly elected councillors without previous qualifying service, the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

## **Seniority by Office**

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor The Deputy Lord Mayor The Leader of the Council

**Hugh Barrett** \*

Patrick Karney

Richard Leese

**Basil Curley** 

Dasii Curicy

Nilofar Siddiqi

Andrew Fender

Mark Hackett

Henry Cooper

Paul Murphy

**Eddy Newman** 

Sheila Newman

Glynn Evans

David Royle

Brian O'Neil

Susan Murphy

Harold Lyons

Susan Cooley

Paul Andrews

Jeff Smith

Mary Murphy

**Neil Swannick** 

**Bernard Priest** 

Joanne Green

Mavis Smitheman

Anna Trotman

Richard Cowell

Bernard Stone

Afzal Khan

John Flanagan

Tom Judge

Mick Loughman

Alistair Cox

June Hitchen

Con Keegan

John Longsden

Barbara O'Neil

Abid Chohan

Jon-Leigh Pritchard

Mary Watson

Mike Amesbury

Naeem Ul-Hassan

**Nigel Murphy** 

Andrew Simcock

Rosa Battle

Sameen Ali

Aftab Ahmed

Veronica Kirkpatrick

Luthfer Rahman

Suzannah Reeves

Rabnawaz Akbar

Suzanne Richards

Julie Reid

Amina Lone

**Tracey Rawlins** 

Grace Fletcher-Hackwood

Aftab Razaq

Matthew Strong

**Bev Craig** 

David Ellison

Carl Austin

Ian Hyde

Kevin Peel

John Hughes

Chris Paul

Peter Cookson

Kate Chappell

Carmine Grimshaw

Fran Shone

Carl Ollerhead

**Shelley Lanchbury** 

Joan Davies

Nasrin Ali

Ahmed Ali

Luke Raikes

**Bridie Adams** 

Angeliki Stogia

Shaukat Ali

Joanna Midgley

**Daniel Gillard** Afia Kamal Tina Hewitson Donna Ludford Ollie Manco Sarah Russell\*\* Azra Ali\*\* Madeleine Monaghan\*\* Sandra Collins\*\* Yasmin Dar\*\* John Hacking\*\* James Wilson\*\* Josie Teubler\*\* Rebecca Moore\*\* Mandie Shilton-Godwin\*\* Beth Knowles\*\* Emily Rowles\*\* Dzidra Noor\*\*

## Notes

- \* Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the member marked \* where service prior to 1st April 1974 with the former Manchester Corporation has also been aggregated.
- \*\* The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 27 May 2014.

City Solicitor

27 May 2014