

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

27 May 2014

### Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

# Annual General Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 4 June 2014

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held on Wednesday 4 June 2014 at 10.00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension for the following purposes:

#### 1. Special Business to be introduced by the Lord Mayor

#### 2. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2014/2015 Municipal Year.

#### 3. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

#### 4. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2014/2015 Municipal Year.

5. **Minutes** - to submit for approval and signature the minutes of the meeting held on 26 March 2014.

#### 6. Interests

To allow members an opportunity to declare any personal or prejudicial interests they might have in any items which appear on this agenda.

#### 7. Seniority of Councillors

To note the statement of the City Solicitor as to the seniority of members of the Council. (enclosed)

#### 8. The Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

#### 9. The Executive

To receive a report from the Leader of the Council on changes, if any, of appointments to the Executive or of executive portfolios.

#### 10. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee	Audit Committee
Employee Appeals Committee	Licensing and Appeals Committee
Licensing Committee	Licensing Policy Committee

Personnel CommitteePlanning and Highways CommitteeStandards CommitteeWythenshawe Area CommitteeExecutive Standing Consultative Panel

Scrutiny Committees – Young People & Children Communities Neighbourhoods Economy Health Finance Joint Health Scrutiny Committee (with Trafford) Pennine Acute Joint Health Scrutiny Committee

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 3 June 2014 – to be circulated at the meeting)

# 11. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 3 June 2014– to be circulated at the meeting)

### 12. Proceedings of the Executive

To submit the proceedings of the Executive on 8 April 2014, and in particular, subject to the decisions of the Executive, to consider:

#### Exe/14/043 Eastlands Community Plan: Update

To recommend that the Council increase the Capital Programme by  $\pounds 1.584m$ ; to be financed by  $\pounds 0.044m$  contribution from St Peter's High School and  $\pounds 1.54m$  prudential borrowing funded from the annual MCFC Stadium rental ( $\pounds 0.790m$ ) and additional Speedway Stadium rental income ( $\pounds 0.75m$ ).

#### Exe/14/047 Beswick Community Hub: Update

To recommend that the Council increase the Capital Programme by  $\pounds$ 3.75m; financed from  $\pounds$ 1m capital fund,  $\pounds$ 0.2m drawdown from the Eastland Reserve and  $\pounds$ 2.55m prudential borrowing funded from the annual MCFC Stadium rental.

#### 13. Questions to Executive Members under Procedural Rule 23.

#### 14. Scrutiny Committees

To note the minutes of the following committee:

Trafford Joint Health Scrutiny Committee – 7 April 2014

#### 15. Proceedings of Committees

To approve the minutes of the following committees -

Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 3 June 2014 (to follow) Health and Wellbeing Board – 14 May 2014 (to follow) Planning and Highways Committee – 10 April 2014 and 8 May 2014 (to follow)

# 16. Business of the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

To receive answers to any questions raised in accordance with Procedural Rule 24 on the business of: (a) the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, (b) the Greater Manchester Fire and Civil Defence Authority, (c) the Greater Manchester Police Authority, (d) the Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority, (e) the Transport for Greater Manchester Committee.

# 17. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2014/2015

Wednesday 30 July 2014 Wednesday 10 December 2014 Friday 6 March 2015 (Budget meeting)

Wednesday 15 October 2014 Wednesday 4 February 2015 Wednesday 1 April 2015

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2015 will be on 20 May 2015

# 18. Council Constitution 2014/2015

To consider a report of the City Solicitor (to follow)

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

# Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Eight individuals with previous long service as councillors of the City have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote on the decisions.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each Municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the Council budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

# **Members of the Council**

# Councillors -

Adams, Ahmed, Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, N. Ali, Sameen Ali, Shaukat Ali, Amesbury, Andrews, Austin, Barrett, R. Battle, Chappell, Chohan, Collins, Cookson, Cooley, Cooper, Cowell, Cox, Craig, Curley, Dar, Davies, Ellison, Evans, Fender, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Gillard, Green, Grimshaw, Hackett, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Hyde, Judge, Kamal, Karney, Keegan, Khan, Kirkpatrick, Knowles, Lanchbury, Leese, Longsden, Loughman, Lone, Ludford, Lyons, Manco, Midgley, Monaghan, Moore, M. Murphy, N. Murphy, P. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Noor, Ollerhead, Barbara O'Neil, Brian O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Rowles, Royle, Russel, Shilton-Goodwin, Siddiqi, Simcock, Shone, Smith, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Swannick, Teubler, Trotman, Watson and Wilson

### Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester-

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Kenneth Franklin, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, Dame Kathleen Ollerenshaw, John Smith and Keith Whitmore

# **Further Information**

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee Officer: **Carolyn Whewell** 

Tel: 0161 234 3011 Fax: 0161 274 7017 Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **27 May 2014** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.