

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 h.bernstein@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Manchester M60 2LA

25 March 2014

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

# Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 26 March 2014 Supplementary Papers

A summons was issued on 18 March for the meeting of the Council which will be held on 26 March 2014 at 10:00 am in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Manchester Town Hall Extension.

The following **supplementary papers** marked to follow in the summons are now enclosed.

### 6. Scrutiny Committees

Communities –5 March 2014 Neighbourhoods – 4 March 2014 Economy – 5 March 2014

#### 7. Proceedings of Committees

Audit Committee – 20 March 2014 Health and Wellbeing Board – 19 March 2014 Planning and Highways Committee –13 March 2014

A note relating to the Wythenshawe Area Committee on 20 March 2014 is enclosed.

Yours faithfully,

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive

## Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

8 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

# **Members of the Council**

#### Councillors -

Adams, Ahmed, Akbar, A. Ali, N. Ali, Sameen Ali, Shaukat Ali, Amesbury, Andrews, Austin, Barrett, R. Battle, Boyes, Chamberlain, Chappell, Chohan, Clayton, Cookson, Cooley, Cooper, Cowell, Cox, Craig, Curley, Davies, Di Mauro, Ellison, Evans, Fairweather, Fender, W. Fisher, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Gillard, Green, Grimshaw, Hackett, Hassan, Hennigan, Hewitson, Hitchen, Hughes, Hyde, Judge, Kamal, Karney, Keegan, Keller, Khan, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leese, Lewis, Longsden, Loughman, Lone, Ludford, Lyons, Manco, Midgley, M. Murphy, N. Murphy, P. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, Ollerhead, Barbara O'Neil, Brian O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Royle, Siddiqi, Simcock, Shone, Smith, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Swannick, Tavernor, Taylor, Trotman, Walters, Watson and Wheale

#### Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester-

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Kenneth Franklin, Audrey Jones JP, Peter Morrison, Dame Kathleen Ollerenshaw, John Smith and Keith Whitmore

# **Further Information**

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: Carolyn Whewell Tel: 0161 234 3011

Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This summons was issued on **25 March 2014** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester, M60 2LA.